Level I:
Peer Run

Level II:

Level III:

Level IV:
Service Provider


  • Democratically run
  • Manual or P&P
  • House manager or senior resident
  • Policy and Procedures
  • Organizational hierarchy
  • Administrative oversight for service providers
  • Policy and Procedures
  • Licensing varies from state to state
  • Overseen organizational hierarchy
  • Clinical and administrative supervision
  • Policy and Procedures
  • Licensing varies from state to state


  • Drug screening
  • House meetings
  • Self help meetings encouraged
  • House rules provide structure
  • Peer run groups
  • Drug screening
  • House meetings
  • Involvement in self help and/or treatment services
  • Life skills development emphasis
  • Clinical services utilized in outside community
  • Service hours provided in house
  • Clinical services & programming provided in house
  • Life skill development


  • Generally single family residences
  • Primarily single family residences
  • Possibly apartments or other dwelling types
  • Varies – all types of residential settings
  • All types – often a step down phase within care continuum of a treatment center
  • May be a more institutional in environment


  • No paid positions within the residence
  • Perhaps an overseeing officer
  • At least 1 compensated person
  • Facility manager
  • Certified staff or case managers
  • Credentialed staff

Download and print levels